Governors recognised in New Year Honours

Monday 4 Jan 2016

Two Myerscough College Governors have been received an MBE in the Queen’s 2016 New Year Honours List.


SAL COOKE CRop 2.jpg

Governors recognised in New Year Honours

Jolyon Dodgson has received an MBE for his services to music and to the rural community.

Jolyon is an experienced soloist and choral director and chairman of many voluntary organisations, as well as sitting on the Board of Governors at Myerscough College. He has also been active in the field of rural affairs in the North West for more than 30 years, in addition to his charity work and other advisory roles on a number of panels and committees.

Jean Yates has also been awarded an MBE for political service and service to the community of Lancashire.

Jean is a former mayor and county councillor who has been in politics for 68 years, overseeing a number of key local developments in the county as a planning committee chair.

In addition to Jolyon and Jean’s recognition, Myerscough College fellow and friend, Sal Cooke, has been awarded an OBE for services to Further Education Accessibility and Inclusion. Sal is a long-time associate of Myerscough College and accepted a fellowship in 2014, in recognition of her ‘outstanding career in the use of pioneering technology, particularly within the education sector.’

Myerscough College Principal, Ann Turner, said: ‘’Many congratulations to them all in their well-earned recognition for their work for others.’’

Share this article

by Dave Salmon

Back to news